Professional smooth live graphics - what to choose

I have been using caspar for many years. Until now I have mainly used flash templates but it is 2020 and Adobe is ending support of flash so I should find some new solution. I wonder how to create graphics for various sport events (live data) using open source softwares and my skills. I can create animations e.g. in after effects, i can programme in several languages, i can do automated template in ae. I would like to create nice professional smooth templates (with dynamic live data). What to choose? How you do that? Can somebody share knowledge about it? Is caspar and html template enough or maybe to do something on higher level there is some better solution?
Technically as a output I would to have key and fill. I have used decklink cards so far.

I either would stick with Flash for a while or use HTML. There is an way to make AE to export to HTML by using BodyMovin. Adobe willl soon add the ability to export mogrt template to HTML So that will be a good way to do it. I for myself still use Flash and will probably do the switch to HTML later.

1 Like

If you do decide to move to HTML, I would recomend learning these things to get up and running quickly.

1. Learn HTML, CSS, and Javascript. Dash has a great free program for this found here.
  2. Learn SVG and Canvas, they are your friends!
  3. Understand media event listeners so you can control your scrips around loading resources.
  4. Learn how to animate with GSAPā€™s animation library.

That should be enough for you to begin developing high quality, dynamic HTML graphics. But, you will learn pretty quickly that the default client is missing a few creature comforts. So, to make your own client, you will need to know:

1. NodeJS - To launch a server and connect to the CasparCG Server
  2. Express to host a Web Server
  3. Pug to build out a front end for the user to interact with.