Scoreboard OCR for CasparCG [WIP]

Hello everyone
I’m Diego from Argentina and after a while I decided to share one of the many projects/ideas that I’ve developed. I’m a professional software developer, and when I was learning NodeJS/SocketIO/etc, I came up with the idea to combine them to resolve this issue (getting info from the scoreboards). In my country almost every basketball event broadcast (tv/streaming) use a few cameras for showing the score and the timer on the scoreboard graphic also. I though that it should exist an affordable solution for CaspaCG too. I don’t know if this is going to be the right solution but I would like that you give it a try. Below there is a basic documentation and some videos. Thank you for giving us a great open source project like CasparCG!!

Scoreboard OCR

About

This is a prototype of web app (NO production ready) for getting info from electronic scoreboards using OCR detection (7 segment). It was created as a low cost option for working with CasparCG to have professional scoreboard graphics on sports event broadcasting.

Features

• Detects/reads 7 segments scoreboards.
  • Send information directly to custom CasparCG html template (only html).
  • No more score or timer cam. You can use it even to read just the score and take out that task from the operator.
  • Master/slave node setup for reading info from different scoreboards (i.e. main scoreboard and shot timer).
  • Set the fields to read and then save them as a layout (for reusing them).
  • Control input/webcam settings (only on linux with uvcdynctrl).
  • Includes a javascript library for adding easily in any custom html template.
  • Log files listing and viewer for debugging use.

System requirements

• CasparCG Server 2.0.7
  • CasparCG Client (optional)
  • Webcam or any input used as webcam (compatible with linux)
  • PC/Notebook or raspberry pi
  • Node.js v6.10.3 or superior
  • NPM v3.10.10 or superior