Understanding the configuration file

I am new to CasparCG. I built my first server 2 years ago, but only used it for playout at one event.
My Server (CASPARCG_SERVER: HP Z400, 3.4Mhz, 12 GBs Ram, Windows 7 Pro, 2 drives- SSD System & Media Drive, Nvidia Quadro 2000, Blackmagic Design Decklink HD Extreme 3 & MiniMonitor 4K, Clean install.
I am running Server 2.0.7 & Client 2.0.8

My system is working!!! I am able to output video on the MiniMonitor and play templates out on the Decklink HD Extreme 3. The reason for this post is although I was able to get things going by copying information, I found on this forum, there are quite a few things I don’t understand. I am looking for a better understanding of how the configuration file works.

I have a couple of questions about how to correctly modify the config file.
I am trying to understand the difference between the two locations that channel is referenced in the config file. One within the initial “Configuration” section and secondly there is the “Channel” section. I am trying to understand how the two relate to each other and/or more importantly how to set them correctly. After some additional reading, I have found a comment that says you determine your video standard in the first config section. If that is the case what should be entered in the “Channel section”?

By default, my config file had “PAL” in the screen consumer. Since I am in the USA, I changed it to NTSC, but then my 720p file played back square. So I modified this setting to 720p2398 and it played out correctly in widescreen format. Then you get down to the “Channel section and again in the “video-mode” section, it had “PAL” which I again changed NTSC (USA) and left the other settings in this section at their default settings. Again after some additional reading, I am questioning what should be entered in this section. Should it be left with the default setting or should I enter by video standard (1080p5994) in this section also?