Template control application in Python

I’m a novice programmer :wink:
I’m writing a simple template control application in Python.
Everything works very well, only I have one problem.
How to check if the template started the animation, stopped the animation or finished the animation?
My application needs to know what state the server and template are in.
(I use amcp-pylib for connection to server)

I only receive responses of this type from the server:
<SuccessResponse(data=[''], code=202, code_description='CG')>

and no information about the current status of the template.
I’m testing my application with a template made in loopic (https://www.loopic.io)

Usually that is done by an operator seeing it. The AMCP protocol does not automatically give feedback about the status of the template. You can try with INFO commands using pooling, but that is only a workaround.

Why? If we understand your use case better, we could help you better.

I tried to use INFO. The information returned is not enough.

OK, I’ll try to explain step by step what my application does and what the problem is:

1. Using the application, I upload the template with the CG_ADD… command
  2. I select a line of text to be sent in the interface
  3. (one press “IN/OUT” BUTTON in the interface) With the CG_UPDATE command I send the text and CG_PLAY start the animation. The animation starts with the uploaded text and stops after expanding .
  4. (one press of the “IN/OUT” BUTTON in the interface) Using the same CG_UPDATE and CG_PLAY sequences, I run the closing sequence of the animation (one press of the “IN/OUT” BUTTON in the interface).

In this case, everything is OK.

The problem is when the user changes the selected line of text between point 3 and 4. Then the animation will expand with one text and collapse with another. This is unacceptable.