Some quick question regarding templates within casparcg

Hi all. With my needs for overlays drastically increasing I’m looking into using casparcg to do my live overlays fed from a json/sql/xml file. I found some helpful guides and getting the necessary dependencies spinned up and into testing/development. I’m by no means a programmer but will struggle my way through. In terms of a template would I be able to have it contain multiple different graphics packs and just transition in and out certain elements with some custom amcp commands via companion for example?

If I wanted to preview stuff before sending them out can I have the preview bus running and preview a template with variables or something to only show the specific graphics I want from the template?

Thanks in advance for any advice/direction.

I have no clue, what you try to ask. To help you, it would make sense, that you give a bit more informations. Sometimes a few graphics help a lot.

A preview is mostly done by adding a separate channel to Caspar and teach the client to output to that channel, when something like a “Preview” button is hit. As most of today’s graphics have animated in’s and out’s using the same channel is not a good workflow.

Hi didi. I haven’t gotten into developing the templates yet so can’t provide images as of yet. Looking for some insight before I spend the time building the different ways I want to visualise data.

Do I do a template for each view or do I combine them into one template and just hide unhide what I need?

I understand having a secondary preview channel out of a decklink card so I’m guessing my question is more down to the custom amcp commands. Would I be able to send a command to ccg to preview a template with certain variables relatively easily?

I see, so you are also the designer of the graphics. I usually only builds templates out of existing designs.