Enhancing the Preview function in the client

Hello everyone,

I’m an experienced Freelance CasparCG operator, template builder, and web developer. Currently, I’m using the CasparCG official client, but I find that the preview function has its limitations. Specifically, the current behavior of [F8] loads the first frame and freezes it, which is not very usable.

I would like to invite proposals from developers who can further develop the preview function to have it send every [F+number] command to the preview. In addition, I need to be able to fire any hotkey command to the preview function with a keyboard modifier [shift].

Currently, [F8] is in use for preview, but it only loads the first frame and freezes it. I would like to keep [F8] as the preview hotkey, but add the functionality to select the behavior of the preview from the options menu. This will allow me to choose whether the preview should load only the first frame and freeze it (the current behavior), or to update the preview with every command sent to it, as I requested above.

As a requirement, the code developed should be made public for others to use and build upon.

If you’re interested in taking on this project, please submit a proposal including a rough estimate of the development time, expected cost, and relevant experience. Thank you!

@edit: Thank you didi for pointing out that it is F8 instead of F7

Last time somebody changed something in the code of the client was about 3 years ago. I would see this project as not very alive any more. Many of us builds their own clients, using various programming langages. Maybe it would be an idea to think about that, or about a new official client.

By the way: I started a discussion about that also about 3 years ago here. @Andrea had started to develop something, but it seemed not to be able to become the new official client yet.