Client documentation?

Hi, is there any documentation/manual for the CasparCG client? I’m having some trouble getting something to work and it might just be that I’m new to the app.

For example, the Next command under playout doesn’t seem to play the next item in a rundown.

Thanks,

Gene

The “Next” command is not for the rundown, it sends a NEXT command to a template. Every command under Playout is for individual items in the rundown except for Clear Layer and Clear Channel.

Thank you.

Is there a way to play the next item in a rundown?

You just need to move to the next item and play it, either selecting it with the mouse or DOWNARROW and hitting F2.

During playout operations I sometimes find it helpful to collapse the library selection panel and the inspector panels. This is done by mouse drag on the finely spaced lines on the right edge of the library and the left edge of the inspector. Drag the library panel to the left, and the inspector panel to the right.

The rundown media elements still display, and once you have given focus to the zone by clicking an entry with the mouse the zone retains focus ensuring the cursor commands are directed at the rundown list in the CasparCG client.

For some operational functions, such as clip replays into a programme, you may find it helpful to set the ‘Freeze on load’ item in the inspector. Then you can load the clip by hitting F3, seeing the first frame of the clip displayed on the channel output. F2 then starts playout, and the cursor keys allow you to move to the next item in your rundown.

There is a further trick that you can use to advance through a playlist, but it needs some extra set-up time when creating the rundown.