CasparCG: I'm new to it; bring me up to speed!

Where can I find a step-by-step resource, explained in bunny-rabbit terms, that brings one up-to-speed? I will be starting from scratch and need a resource that is easy to digest. That way I won’t be bothering you all with questions that elicit simple answers/ solutions. I want to become a resource for clients and friends like you guys. Here’s what I need to accomplish:
I need to schedule programming that is time-accurate (the client handles this) to send a 1080p/29.97/320mb stream of that programming from where I am to my CDN. I need to understand it because I have to be able to duplicate it for youth and adult RTF programs in the private school sector.
My upload capacity is supposed to be at around 15MB.

See this page List of CasparCG clients The PlayoutAutomation programed by TVP could be the solution you are looking for. But there are also other clients mentioned on the page.

Thanks, @didikunz. I am lookng at it now…

I would do that in two steps. play out clips through a NDI-channel (Newtek iVGA) from CasparCG, receive the channel in another computer (in the same subnet) that has OBS (and NDI-plugin) and stream it to the CDN from OBS. That way I feel I would have a much better control of what I am sending. And the specs of a OBS-machine isnt so high-end.
br markus

1 Like

Thanks for this nugget. Just took a look at this technology and from what I can see, that would change a lot for me. It is a bit of an overwhelming thought, though. So many thoughts came to mind that any intelligible information became muddled in the den of noise.
I totally get what you are suggesting. I think. For example, you are suggesting using one beast of a machine to do all of the heavy lifting (radio/ TV data processing) and then send the results (streams) to a smaller animal to be passed on to the CDN.