BodyMovin / Lottie: How to embed fonts

I am new to HTML templates and was experimenting with BodyMovin and Lottie. I finally figured out, how to change texts in such an animation. That was a big success for me :smiley: But now I am struggling with font embedding.

Can somebody enlighten me? What do I enter in the dialog box, that pops up on exporting (in BodyMovin) and what do I add to the templates code? What font format are supported?

I haven’t ever used type with Lottie (never encounter a need for it) but I assume this should work just via plain CSS. Have you tried?

@font-face {
    font-family: "myFont";
    src: url("fonts/FunkyFont.ttf");  }

#myLottieElement {
    font-family: myFont;
}

Thanks, will try that.

I have used ttf and otf fonts. In the dialog box just write the path to the font(think the field is called path) , and a check in the URL option. I normally put the font in the same location as the rest of the files, so I would just type in: fontname.ttf. I can take a picture of what I do tomorrow and post if it helps. I dont write any code in the template about fonts.

I figured it out: I had a design, that uses “Helvetica Neue” and the font was in OTF format. I added the path etc. to the output Window in BodyMovin on Export and ended up with this font list in the JSON file:

"fonts": {
		"list": [
			{
				"origin": 3,
				"fPath": "../fonts/HelveticaNeue-Roman.otf",
				"fClass": "Roman",
				"fFamily": "Helvetica Neue, sans-serif",
				"fWeight": "",
				"fStyle": "55 Roman",
				"fName": "HelveticaNeue-Roman",
				"ascent": 71.39892578125
			},
			{
				"fPath": "../fonts/HelveticaNeue-HeavyCond.otf",
				"fClass": "Heavy",
				"fFamily": "Helvetica Neue, sans-serif",
				"fStyle": "87 Heavy Condensed",
				"fName": "HelveticaNeue-HeavyCond",
			}
		]
	},

Playing this in Caspar showed the text in Times New Roman, so that was not what I wanted. I then experimented a bit an found this solution:

Add this CSS to the template:

@font-face {