Total Noob, need gentle guidance

My father in-law runs a local Class A LPTV station. He is currently Over The Air only and is must carried by our local CATV provider (I’m only about 80% certain I understand what I just said…). Anyway, I am a web/software developer. He has asked me to help look into possibly streaming his station programming over the internet. He seems to think he can deliver his station to the CATV provider this way as well.

I’ll be honest, my understanding of how any of this works is largely limited to some twitch/YouTube streaming and embedding video players in web sites that pull from places like Vimeo.

Anyway, I was trying to get opencaster running at his request. When I found their github repo I noticed how dated that seemed 4 years since last update. Looking for alternatives I found CasparCG.

What he wants is to be able to upload his pre-encoded video files (mpg4) to a server, schedule their playback, deliver this stream to the CATV Provider, and read the stream at his transmitter to broadcast that over the air.

Is this something CasparCG does? I need pointed in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!!

Hi
There are some basic facts about streaming to the internet

1. You need a CDN, some deliver to your content through, For example the best known CDNs are Facebook, Youtube, Twitch or Livestream/Vimeo. When using a CDN either you pay alot or you have to be very careful about copyrights.
  2. When you know what you are going to stream to where, then you need somekind of software to stream to the CDN, most commonly it makes a rtmp-stream. These programs are called encoders and the most popular (Open Source) now is OBS. With it you can take a signal and stream it to a CDN.
    In my opinion CasparCG is a fantastic software but I wouldn’t use it as a streaming software, but as a playout-software you cant find a better one in the same price range…